Programme Tour Tomar Route Templars
Tomar - A region occupied by men since a long time, with the Nabão beautiful valley remains that recede to the Palaeolithic period. In place of the current take has already existed the Roman cities of "Nabantia" and "Sellium". Conquered from the Moors in 1147 by the first Portuguese king, Afonso Henriques, was then donated to the Templars in 1159.
The Convent of Christ in Tomar, belongs to the Knights Templar. Founded in 1162 by the Grand Master of the Templars, Dom Gualdim Pais, the Christ Convent still retains memories of these knights monks and the heirs of his office, the Order of Christ, which made this building its headquarters. Heritage, UNESCO
The construction of Tomar Castle began in 1160, by the hand of the Templars, part of a line of defense against Muslim advances. This objective would be proved and 1190, with an attack of the forces of Morocco emir, in which take not only withstood the siege as they inflicted heavy casualties, through one of the doors of the castle to be called Blood Gate.
Almourol Castle, situated on a small island that was already inhabited at the time of the Roman occupation of the peninsula, from the eighth century, it was occupied by the Muslims, who have conquered the Visigoths. Within the Christian reconquest of the Iberian Peninsula, Almourol was conquered by D. Afonso Henriques, in 1129, that gave the Temple Order
This order is responsible for the reconstruction of the castle, giving it the characteristics of the Templar fortifications. The existing inscription over the main gate, points to its completion in 1171. With the extinction of the Knights Templar in 1311, D. Dinis gave the castle to the Order of Christ.